Underage DWI Defense Lawyer in Brooklyn
More than 20 Years of Outstanding Legal Representation
Mistakes happen, especially among young people, and they shouldn’t define their entire future. If you or your minor child has been charged with an underage DWI, a conviction can have a significant impact on their ability to lead a hopeful and productive life. At The Law Offices of Wilson Antonio LaFaurie, we work hard to help our clients preserve their future.
Our Brooklyn underage DWI attorney fights hard to protect client rights and to help them deal with the aftermath of an underage DWI arrest. With decades of experience behind us, we can provide you with the legal representation you need to feel confident in court.
Underage DWAI vs. DWI Charges
The State of New York has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. While adults can legally drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level under .08 percent, those under 21 face DWI charges for amounts as low as .02 percent.
The designated BAC levels for an underage DWAI vs. a DWI are:
- DWAI: at least .02 percent
- DWI: .08 percent or higher
Even one drink at a party can result in a DWAI charge, and the penalties can be severe. A criminal conviction can make it challenging to get into college, qualify for student loans, find employment, and secure housing.
Penalties of Underage DWI Charges
In New York, if you are underage and charged with what is called a “per se DWI,” your case will be handled by the DMV. A “per se DWI” refers to charges that are brought based on your BAC level alone. A minor can be charged with a per se DWI even when their BAC is under .08 percent. This is part of New York’s Zero Tolerance Law.
Penalties for a DWI with a BAC between .02 and .07 percent include:
- 6-month license suspension
- $125 fine
If your BAC is .08 percent or above, or you are charged with driving while substantially impaired, you can be charged with an underage DWI and will face similar penalties to that of an adult. Again, as with adults, subsequent convictions will see intensified sentences.
Penalties of an underage DWI can include:
- One-year mandatory license suspension
- Fines up to $1,000
- Mandatory rehabilitation programs
- Community service
- Up to a year in jail
Those under 21 may also face additional charges related to the illegal acquisition and consumption of alcohol. If you or a loved one is facing underage DWI charges, no matter the circumstances, it is recommended that you secure legal representation as soon as possible. With so much at stake, you must protect your rights.
With the future at stake, you must take underage DWI charges seriously. Call our DWI defense lawyer at (718) 215-9182.
I can honestly say if I had hired any another attorney I would not have had the same results.- Satchel
Wilson LaFaurie is especially knowledgable in DUI & DWI offenses- Attorney Izabel Garcia
His appearance in every way is wonderful in front of the jury.- Attorney Lisa Pelosi
His reassurance helped ease my anxiety.- Donna
He met and exceeded our expectations.- Felix
Not Guilty Driving While Intoxicated
Hung Jury; No Conviction Homicide/Murder Case
Straight Probation Robbery/Assault Case
No Charges Filed Perjury By Victim
Not Guilty Verdict On All Charges Driving While Intoxicated For The 3rd Time
Reduced to 1 Misdemeanor Charge Credit Card Fraud, Previously Convicted In Outside State
Dismissed Sexual Assault Charge
License Reinstated DWI Refusal Hearing
Full Driving Privileges Restored DWI Refusal Hearings
Dismissed DWI/DUI - Six Arrests